Elbert is an artist, librarian, free-diver, traveller and nature lover. In this episode he tells us about growing up in LA, how experiencing racism made him more resilent and tolerent, shares stories about teaching in a poor neighborhood in south central LA as well as his current passion, free-diving in Suma, and other topics. Here are a few links to information we found on some of the topics covered.

Pacific Palisades – https://www.compass.com/neighborhood-guides/la/pacific-palisades/ 

Third-Culture Kids (BBC) – https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20161117-third-culture-kids-citizens-of-everywhere-and-nowhere 

Nina Jacobson (Wikipedia) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nina_Jacobson 

UCLA – https://www.ucla.edu/ 

UCLA Art Department – https://www.art.ucla.edu/undergraduate-studies/

New Forms – https://www.art.ucla.edu/areas-of-study/new-genres/ 

Mohave National Preserve – https://www.nps.gov/moja/index.htm 

Hot Springs and Hot Pools of the Southwest (Amazon) – https://www.amazon.com/Hot-Springs-Pools-Southwest-Original/dp/1890880051 

City of Hesperia – https://www.cityofhesperia.us/ 

Deep Creek – https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/california/deep-creek-hot-springs-trail?u=m

Kelso Dunes – https://www.daytrippen.com/kelso-dunes-depot-mojave-desert-trip/

Stairway Walks in Los Angeles – https://www.amazon.com/Stairway-Walks-Angeles-Adah-Bakalinsky/dp/0899971121

The Jet Program – https://jetprogramme.org/en/

The Wire – https://www.hbo.com/the-wire

DIY Freediver Youtube channel – https://www.youtube.com/@diyfreediver

PechaKucha Night Presentaton – https://www.pechakucha.com/presentations/elberts-presentation-459 

Lahaina, Maui – https://www.gohawaii.com/islands/maui/regions/west-maui/Lahaina 

Le Grande Bleu – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAZaRub0P_U

Breath (James Nesto) https://www.mrjamesnestor.com/ 

Wim Hoff – https://www.wimhofmethod.com/ 

Akashi Kaikyo Bridge – https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3559.html

Ali Express – https://www.aliexpress.com/

Open Cell vs. Closed Cell Wetsuit – https://www.wetsuitwearhouse.com/blog/open-cell-vs-closed-cell-wetsuits/